The Beginning of my Research Career

I have always had a passion for sport and been involved in sports as a player, official or volunteer since very young. I always knew that I wanted to have something to do with sport as a career.

I completed my secondary studies and decided to put off going to University while I did a traineeship with Canoe South Australia. A traineeship requires you to undertake a TAFE Certificate along with working over one year. I completed a Certificate III in Sport and Recreation, majoring in Administration. After finishing my traineeship I undertook a Certificate IV in Sport and Recreation, majoring in Events.

I then ended up going to University to do a Bachelor of Sport and Recreation Management. I my first year of a Bachelor of Sport and Recreation Management at the University of South Australia I had a Program Director, Dr Duncan Murray, who instilled in me a passion for university and I decided that I wanted to pursue a career in the tertiary system. Duncan is a passionate lecturer and very encouraging of students.

On completion of my undergraduate degree I went to work at the University of Ballarat in an administrative role in the School of Human Movement and Sport Sciences, and then a marketing position for the University of Ballarat. Again, I was lucky enough to meet and work with administrative and academic staff who encouraged me and my desire to continue my studies.

When I decided to go back to studying I chose the location, Edith Cowan University in Perth, because of the two people I had chosen as my supervisors. Dr Alicia Stanway and Dr Olan Scott agreed to be my Honours supervisors and supported me through the ups and downs that go along with it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Research, Studying, University

Leave a Reply

